FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

User ratings

Why do you have user ratings?
Sharing with our neighbours is a lovely thing, but sometimes it is helpful to know if another user has successfully shared in the past and was courteous and timely.

Can I rate any user?
No, you can only rate users you have messaged with.

How can I rate a user?

1. Go to your messages inbox
2. Tap on the profile picture of anyone you have recently messaged with
3. Assign a star rating (5 is high, 1 is low)

Hint: Your rating should take into account the other user’s quality of communication, timeliness for pickup and whether the item was as advertised.

Are ratings anonymous?
Yes.

I have rated a user, but it’s not showing up. Why is that?
We only show a rating once two people have rated someone to provide anonymity.

How does my star rating affect my ability to use OLIO?
If your star rating gets too low, we may be in touch via email with some suggestions as to how you can improve it. If you continue to have a low star rating/receive low ratings then your OLIO account may be temporarily suspended or permanently deleted. We will notify you by email before suspending or deleting your account. If your account is suspended you will still be able to message with users that you are already in touch with about a share, however you will not be able to add or request any new listings.